bookblogging

#1 (Don’t) Judge a blog by it’s design

Well, it hasn’t been long since I started this blog and things are already behind schedule.

Let’s see. I planned to write at least 1-2 book reviews each week. I even enlisted the help of trusty ole Β excel to help me keep track of the abundant content I would, no doubt, be flooding my blog with. My blog wouldn’t know what hit it. It turned out to be partially true: my blog didn’t know what hit it because nothing did.

#Name

Everybody’s been there. Β We’ve all disliked the name we first chose (no? oh well) or the second choice (nooooooo? Umm) or the third one (*fades into wallpaper*). Just kidding; I arrived at “bespectacled imp” on my second try (pat on the shoulder). Unfortunately for me, I had already selected the domain name as per my initial name (which shall never be uttered in this space) and so I had to browse through a bunch of WordPress dashboards to find out how to edit the domain name.

#Themes

Once the cakewalk that was name selection was done, I moved on to the world of themes. I took a fair number of them for a demo run before finally settling on one. In case you’re wondering, it is not the theme currently on my blog. There’s just so many of them and they all look good initially. It’s when you start using them that you begin to realize the shortcomings and then there’s another evening spent on finding a new theme.

#What is everybody else doing?

See, there’s this thing that we all suffer from: when you’re at a restaurant and you see something on somebody else’s plate and you don’t know what it is but you’re drooling anyway. I checked out a few blogs to see how they’re doing stuff – you know, using widgets, features, menus, designs, colors, the works – I almost drooled through two sets of clothes.

So you see something on somebody else’s blog and you simply have to have a modified, funky version of it on yours. That moment when you realize that the theme you spent an entire weekend personalizing and you discover that it does not support your shiny, new, must-have bauble. That’s when you start reaching for the bottle.

What blogging struggles did you face when you first started your blog?

11 thoughts on “#1 (Don’t) Judge a blog by it’s design

  1. I’ve just started out as well. For an older person like me (35 is old, right?), it’s really hard to figure out how to set up the blog. I’ve never been tech-savvy (it’s just always been a means to an end) and figuring out the menu and pages and categories was hard enough. I finally had to employ the talents of my husband to make my menu bar. For a person who just wants to write to and connect with other writers and readers, the tech aspect can be a huge roadblock. I wish it was easier.
    It’s heartening to hear that I’m not the only one who had trouble customizing the theme. πŸ™‚
    P.S. I like your writing style – effortlessly funny and affable,

    Like

    1. Hello!
      I thought I was being silly starting this kind of series because OF COURSE everyone around must be an old hand at WordPress. Or writing. But then I realized that there must be plenty of people like me and this is just another way for us to connect and share. πŸ™‚

      P.S. Thanks a lot about complimenting my writing style! I tried checking out your blog but it turned out to be a dead end. Still customizing? πŸ˜‰
      Let me know if there is anything I can do to help.

      Like

      1. Yes I did. That was almost a decade ago. How can I fix this? Some other people can see my posts though. It’s very confusing.

        Like

Leave a Reply

