Romance

The Chocolate Kiss – Laura Florand

I read the first book and absolutely loved it! I’ve reviewed it here.

background-1921589_960_720

Goodreads Blurb – 

The Heart of Paris

Welcome to La Maison des Sorcieres. Where the window display is an enchanted forest of sweets, a collection of conical hats delights the eye and the habitues nibble chocolate witches from fanciful mismatched china. While in their tiny blue kitchen, Magalie Chaudron and her two aunts stir wishes into bubbling pots of heavenly chocolat chaud.

But no amount of wishing will rid them of interloper Philippe Lyonnais, who has the gall to open one of his world famous pastry shops right down the street. Philippe’s creations seem to hold a magic of their own, drawing crowds of beautiful women to their little isle amidst the Seine, and tempting even Magalie to venture out of her ivory tower and take a chance, a taste…a kiss.

Parisian princesses, chocolate witches, patissier princes and sweet wishes—an enchanting tale of amour et chocolat.

My thoughts –

I started the 2nd book in the series right away because the first book was that gooooood and I didn’t want to let go of Laura Florand’s Paris. And the chocolate. I was not disappointed with the second installment. And this time I got macarons! If there is anything that can make chocolate or macarons (or anything, really) better, it’s magic.

This book reminded me of Chocolat (another favorite of mine. Must re-read that sometime soon). While this one wasn’t as detailed when it came to the culinary aspects, it certainly had it’s own brand of witchy magic. It also reminded me of another book I really enjoyed reading: Garden Spells. If I had any complaint about this book it would be the magic. I would’ve loved to see more of what Magalie and her aunts could were capable of.

I always like romance novels where there is instant attraction but also instant friction. I love it when the two leads want each other but also hate each other which makes the attraction so frustrating and sizzling! There was plenty of that here. Honestly though, I thought that Philippe and Magalie were apart for a bit longer than necessary but there were those moments of seductive chocolate and wrapped up surprises and unexpected kisses at dawn to get me through. I was excited to see what new thing Philippe would come up with to lure in the little witch.

Philippe Lyonnais was a cat, through and through. He was big, bossy, overly-confident but also incredibly patient. He was also melt-me-in-a-puddle sexy. Every scene where Magalie went weak in the knees at the mere sight of him, I went weak in the knees. Laura Florand does know how to write her heroes. What I also like about them is that they may be arrogant and cocky but they’re arrogant and cocky about their work. Not the women they’ve been with. Right from the beginning they treat their women well; it may be a cat and mouse game but it’s a cat and mouse game between two well matched players. None of this alpha-male-I-know-better-than-you crap. There are times when I have a craving for that kind of a hero but not all the time.

The minor problem that I had with Cade in The Chocolate Thief was completely absent here. Cade was, in my opinion, something of a pushover when it came to Sylvain. I’m sure he loved it; sadly, I didn’t. Magalie, on the other hand, was so, so strong and yet so fragile and insecure; it was perfectly balanced. I ached for the princess-cum-witch hiding in her ivory tower, untouched by the world. Her character went through a transformation (applause) and she went through some life-altering-confidence-boosting changes. That means I definitely liked this book marginally more than the first one. We usually don’t realize that the strongest among us are also capable of feeling insecure and probably do so far more than we’d think.

I highly recommend this book to lovers of chocolate, crazy family members, cat lovers and for Paris.

Leave a Reply

