Crime/Mystery

And Then There Were None – Agatha Cristie

16299

Goodreads Blurb –

First, there were ten – a curious assortment of strangers summoned as weekend guests to a private island off the coast of Devon. Their host, an eccentric millionaire unknown to all of them, is nowhere to be found. All that the guests have in common is a wicked past they’re unwilling to reveal – and a secret that will seal their fate. For each has been marked for murder. One by one they fall prey. Before the weekend is out, there will be none. And only the dead are above suspicion.

My thoughts –

This isn’t my first Agatha Cristie book but it’s definitely my first Agatha Crsitie book in a looooong time. I was probably in school when I read her last and I honestly don’t know why Β I haven’t since.

And Then There Were None was a spectacular read. It was fast, it was thrilling and it was frightening. I absolutely loved the writing style; my mood while reading was like that of the characters ; curious at first, getting stranger, then creepy, leaning towards frightening and then nail-biting suspense. It was fantastic!

I’ve found that often times writers do not have any specific writing style. They’re simply telling a story. It may be a very good story but I prefer for the author to have a distinct tone or manner of narrating a story. It makes a huge difference to me and is the reason why I do not finish many books. I simply don’t find the book enjoyable.

And Then There Were None does not face that problem at all. Since I took an instant liking to Vera Claythorne, I hoped that she would make it out alive. She almost did too. But well, the title is what it is for a reason. The romantic in me wanted something special to happen between Mr. Lombard and Vera Claythorne. He does fit the bill when it comes to your typical dangerous, alpha male hero.Β But this is not that kind of book and don’t waste any time thereafter on it.

Right from the beginning of the book I paid close attention to all the characters, their stories, their “positions” in the rooms etc. in an effort to work out the mystery. I was not successful. The killer is, in fact, revealed (to the readers) only towards the very end. The book was running out of pages and I was worried that the author would leave it like that. But then that wouldn’t make it a very good piece of literature would it?

I’m definitely not waiting a long time now before reading another Agatha Cristie.

 

Leave a Reply

