wrap ups

Reading Wrap Up (July 2017)

Hello!

I read a lot this month. In terms of pages, types of content, roller-coaster of emotions, different set of characters, you name it. And so *I thought* I read a lot. I read a whopping FOUR books in the month of July. How 'a lot' is that.

Speed aside, though, I feel like its been a good month of reading. I liked most of what I read, and pledged myself over to a couple of new authors. Not a bad month at all.

The books are in the order I read them:

Unwind

 

UnWind by Neal Shusterman

This one is a Dystopian, Young Adult novel. I don't usually read a lot of YA but I'm so glad I read this one. It was wonderfully written, with a LOT of twists and turns (which I loved!) and a fascinating set of characters.

For the full review, click here.

 

A natural history of dragons

 

A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan

Absolutely loved this one! Fell in love with more than just dragons here. An incredibly unusual take on the mythical creatures and an even more enjoyable tale of a young woman breaking free.

For the full review, click here.

 

 

Unwholly

 

UnWholly by  Neal Shusterman 

Yes. I liked the first book so much that I jumped onto this one pretty soon. I'm afraid to say I was more than a little disappointed. While I did like it, I did not like it as much as Unwind.

For the full rant, click here.

 

Assasin's Apprentice_1

 

Assassin's Apprentice by Robin Hobb

This one was, hands down, the best book I read in July, and that is saying something since (apart from UnWholly), I really enjoyed the other two. A coming of age story (of sorts) of a bastard son, with plenty of childish (and some not so childish) adventures. Oh and puppies. Lots of puppies.

For the full love affair, click here.

 

I also tried to read these books but I just couldn't get into them. I've never been the type to drag my way through an un-enjoyable book.

tropic of serpents.jpg

 

The Tropic of Serpents by Marie Brennan

I bet you're thinking, if I loved the first one so much, how could I abandon the second one? There was far too much political drama and I just couldn't get past it to reach the dragons. This one was also a lot slower as compared to the first book.

What is wrong with sequels?!!?

 

the paper magician.jpg

The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

I got lured in by the Goodreads blurb. When I began reading it though, I thought the story fell flat and dry and was simply not magical enough.  I've shelved it (for now) on my will-get-back-to-this-later shelf but I'm not too hopeful.

A classic example, in my opinion, of the blurb being better than the book.

 

 

gospel of loki.jpg

 

Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris

I was super excited about this one. Such high hopes. I even visualized Tom Hiddleston through most of what I read. Nada. Didn't really work for me. In fact, out of all the three abandons this month, I gave up on this one the quickest.

Oh well.

 

What did you read in July and which is/are your favorite one/ones? Do share!

Leave a Reply

